Hellish Hills

Thursday’s club session is usually a nice, steady run around varying routes in Carlisle. It was surprisingly warm on Thursday evening and so I was debating whether to go for a run, or stay at home and relax. I really struggle to run when it’s even a little bit warmer than usual!

I managed to drag myself out of the door and into the car by telling myself that I’d enjoy a plod around Carlisle, and I could always slow down if the going got tough.

While waiting for the run to begin I overheard the dreaded words ‘Hill Sprints’. I hoped I’d been mistaken and that the coach was just mentioning it in passing… No such luck. The night’s session was the dreaded ‘Continuous Hills’! This involves blasting a gut to sprint up a hill for 1 minute before returning to the bottom of the hill within 90 seconds. 8 times!! The aim is to reach the same point on each sprint; pacing it right is key to not falling over and dying by rep 4.

The stats:

Rep 1:  1 Minute    Distance Travelled  209m

Rep 2:  1 Minute    Distance Travelled  177m

Rep 3:  1 Minute    Distance Travelled  193m

Rep 4:  1 Minute    Distance Travelled  193m

Rep 5:  1 Minute    Distance Travelled  193m

Rep 6:  1 Minute    Distance Travelled  193m

Rep 7:  1 Minute    Distance Travelled  193m

Rep 8:  1 Minute    Distance Travelled  193m

Surprised at how consistent the reps were as it felt like torture and my legs were so heavy during the latter reps. A steady 2 mile jog back to the car and a good stretch afterwards has really helped avoid any muscle soreness.

Despite struggling (detesting) these sessions, they really are effective in developing leg power and good running  form. I also felt that the 3, yes 3, cream cakes that I had eaten earlier were now fully justified, and guilt-free :o)

In other news, myself and my cousin, Ali, made it into the local paper for our part in the Endurance Life Real Relay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

