Get Fit, Feel Epic Week 3

 

I really can’t believe this is week 3 already! the time is really flying at the moment and so it does feel a real battle sometimes to fit everything I want to do into my busy schedule!

Anyway, I’ll recap my goals and describe how they’re going.

As I explained in my last update, this week I was going to take things a bit easier due to participating in the Great North Run on Sunday. Rather than doing Jillian Michaels DVDs, I  followed some of the exercises in her book that focussed on core and upper body workouts. I wanted to give my legs a rest this week. It was still tough, though!

I am currently on Week3 Day 2 of the 100 Push up programme. The last day I did had me doing reps of 10,12,7,7,8 with 60 seconds rest between each. So, that’s an improvement! From doing 8 ‘good form’ push ups last week, I have now done 12!! Full on, proper push ups! For me this is a massive achievement and seeing this has inspired me to keep working on my upper body strength.

As I may have mentioned, I did the Great North Run on Sunday. I completed it in 2 hours 1 minute and 19 seconds – 13 seconds slower than my PB at Haweswater half earlier this year. It’s given me a real wake up call of how I am going to achieve a half marathon PB. Pacing!!! Again, I set off too fast and so I really struggled from Mile 10 onwards. I need to learn how to improve my focus when the going gets tough and work out strategies that will enable me to get through the pain when my head is screaming at me to quit. The Cumbrian Run is 3 weeks away and I’m hoping I’ll be sufficiently recovered by then to attain a new PB.

Eating healthily is going OK although I do slack at logging all my meals on My Fitness Pal. I *must* try harder. I did have a blow out yesterday and treated myself to pizza but, to be fair, I had just done a half marathon and it was my birthday! Plus, the odd treat isn’t going to do too much damage and it helps to keep up my morale 🙂

This week’s challenge is a home workout to complete. I don’t think I’ll be tackling this before Thursday to give myself a few days off to recover.

he workout: 

3 rounds for time (time each round and rest at least 1 minute between rounds).

– 10 burpees
– 20 squats
– 30 push ups

I’m looking forward to this despite detesting Burpees! After all, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger……….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

