Get Fit, Feel Epic Week 6

 

Another week has gone by and so it’s time for my weekly recap for Get Fit, Feel Epic. A time to look back at my achievements this week and to assess my goals.

This week, I did 2 circuits out of Jillian Michaels’ Making The Cut book. I did a plank circuit which included several variations on the evil plank. These were Plank Twists, Extended Plank, Side Plank and Plank Row. Again, I mainly focused on core and upper body exercises to rest my legs. They’ve taken a hammering lately with doing 2 half marathons in 3 weeks!

The 100 Push Up challenge has been my greatest achievement during the last few weeks. I’ve moved on to Week 4, Day 3. This involved me doing sets of 16, 18, 13, 13 and 20 with a 120 second rest in between each set. It hurt. It really hurt, but I did it!! Over the last few weeks, I have done a total of 432 push ups!

I am looking forward to next year now in the hope of a half marathon PB then. In order to achieve this, I know I have to get to the root of the problem and try to sort out my dodgy hips. To this end, I have continued with the yoga poses for runners routine that I started earlier during this challenge. I have also included 4 extra stretches which are specifically for those suffering with Trochanteric Bursitis.

I have managed to lose 2 lbs over the last few weeks and 1/2 inch off my waist and hips. Not huge losses, I know, but I’m happy that it’s heading in the right direction and I’m starting to feel more comfortable with my body shape. I’m not perfect but, really, who is.

This week has been pretty good for healthy eating. I’m taking less snacks into work; this is the place where I find it hardest to resist snacking. When I’m at home, I can usually find something to do that will take my mind off food. However, when I’m at work, sitting at my desk, the temptation is just too much! Our evening meals have also been healthier and have included nice, hearty vegetable soups – just what’s needed with the longer, darker nights setting in.

This week’s challenge was to do push ups! As I mentioned earlier, the 100 push up challenge is going well. In order not to over do things  (my poor arms!), I initially started with a low target and only built up by 1 each day. I was, therefore, able to do the GFFE challenge alongside my 100 push up challenge without completely killing off my poor upper body!

Day 1  5 Push ups

Day 2  6 Push ups

Day 3  7 Push ups

Day 4  8 Push ups

Day 5  9 Push ups

Day 6  10 Push ups

Next week’s challenge is a scavenger hunt type challenge – We have to take lots of pictures depicting various things such as our source of inspiration and what we look like after a work out! I’m looking forward to this!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Fit, Feel Epic Week 6

  1. Well done on your push ups!! Amazing x x

  2. plumpetals says:

    Congrats on your weight loss this week & well done with your pushups!
    I think planks – of all variations – are evil!
    Hope this week has been going well for you!

Leave a Reply

