Get Fit, Feel Epic Week 7

So, this is it! We’re moving into the final week of the challenge. I must thank Rebecca and MoneySupermarket for giving us the opportunity to participate in such a great challenge. It has certainly helped keep me motivated despite having a tough few weeks.

I’ll start by looking back over last week and assessing my progress. Firstly, my mojo regarding Jillian Michaels’ DVD workouts has returned. I attempted her Extreme Shred and Shed Level 2 for the first time this week. I found it challenging but achievable and felt great after it. This week I also did Level 1 of Ripped in 30 and the dreaded Level 2 from her classic 30 Day Shred.

The 100 Push up challenge has been the thing that has made me really proud of myself during this challenge. It’s no secret that I lack in upper body strength but I have stuck with this. I have repeated days when the going got tough, but I’m still plugging away! Yesterday was a ‘test’ day to see how many ‘Good Form’ push ups I could perform. I managed 22!! At the start of this challenge, I could manage 4! Since the start of this challenge, I have managed to do 452 push ups!! I’m starting to notice the advantages of my increased upper body strength in my everyday life; I can now open difficult jars! No longer do I have to ask the other half to help! I am woman; I am strong!!!

Again, I did not achieve a half marathon PB. I am looking forward to next year now and the Haweswater half in March. Last year, I did this one in 2:01:06 and so I’d love to beat this time. It’s a challenging, hilly course but the scenery is breathtaking and you get a lovely mug at the end! In preparation for this, I am continuing to do a yoga routine everyday and exercises specific to trochanteric bursitis in order to strengthen my hips and increase their flexibility.

I have maintained the loss that I have achieved during this challenge and this is a result of looking closer at the food that I am putting into my body. I also realise that I don’t need to feel so guilty about having treats. I now think it’s essential to have regular treats in order to keep up your motivation, prevent binges and reward yourself for doing an amazing job 90% of the time.

This week’s challenge was a photo scavenger hunt. I enjoyed doing this as I love taking photos.

1. This first pic is of me after a workout. I’d just completed a hilly 7.8 miler on a gorgeous morning.

2. For piece of fitness equipment, I’ve included a pic of a treadmill. This has proven to be great for those days when the other half’s away and I can’t get out. This was taken after I’d just completed a tough 30 minute hill workout

3. Next, one of my favourite places; my bed! I love climbing it at the end of a busy day and getting to read in peace.

4. My favourite movie of all time is The Wizard of Oz. A classic, feel good movie that never gets old. Love it.

It’s a hit with the girls too!

5. Apart from my family, my source of inspiration is Paula Radcliffe. She’s had so many injury woes and disappointments, but she keeps on battling.

From Paula Radcliffe.com

6 As cheesy as it sounds, my girls make me happy.

7. I love taking pictures of the beautiful countryside that surrounds us. Living so close to the Lake District, we’re lucky that we can just drive a short way to enjoy it. This pic was taken at Hammond’s Pond, just on the outskirts of Carlisle.

8. Something I’ve grown; these lettuces πŸ™‚

9. I should really stop biting my nails! Filthy habit! If I did, I’d be able to wear pretty varnishes..

10. And finally, something new that I love…. New potatoes! You really can’t beat them, especially from this local farm. Seriously, though, the yoga routine that I started during this challenge has been the something new that I’ve surprisingly enjoyed πŸ™‚

Next week, we’ll be consolidating all the things that we’ve learned during this challenge and thinking ahead at the new challenges that we will set ourselves. Our final challenge is to comment on all our fellow GFFE participants and say something nice about them. That shouldn’t be too difficult as it’s a cracking group of people.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Get Fit, Feel Epic Week 7

  1. deanna says:

    great pictures. Looks like you had some fun with last weeks mini challenge πŸ™‚

  2. You’re nature shot is stunning.

    I love Jillian’s DVDs. I really want her Killer Abs when I can get it here in the Uk.

  3. plumpetals says:

    Well done on your work towards your goals this week, especially on those push-ups!! Love the photos πŸ™‚

  4. I love the Wizard of Oz too, I really do, its amazing.

  5. S.N.S says:

    Your girls are super cute:) 22 push-ups is a great achievement and I really hope the yoga/exercises for bursitis help you smash through the two hour barrier at your next half.

  6. Kris says:

    Lovely photos! As for your challenge, good on you – you’re doing great! My husband is doing the 100 push up challenge, it’s hard!! Kudos to you for tackling it and progressing so far.

Leave a Reply

