Get Fit, Feel Epic: The Final Week!!

 

Well, this is it! The final week. Thanks once again to Rebecca and MoneySuperMarket for giving us the opportunity to take part in this challenge.

So, to begin, I’ll round up what I have achieved this week for the final time..

My Jillian Michaels DVD collection is definitely getting overused again. She really is motivating and she seems to know when you’re wanting to quit and screams at you to keep going. I wouldn’t dare quit on her!! This week I revisited Level 1 of 30 Day Shred; this was where my Jillian obsession began! I also completed Level 1 of 6 Week, 6 Pack and No More Trouble Zones. Although I have had a few weeks where I didn’t do as many of her exercises as I would have liked, I believe I’ve done pretty well at keeping it up. I have completed two half marathons during this challenge and so have had some easier weeks in order that I didn’t overdo things.

The 100 Push Up challenge is still going well. Today I managed to do 100 push ups broken down into sets of 10, 10, 13, 13, 10, 10, 9 and 25. Later that morning, I also did 30 push ups in one go as part of a challenge from Tribesports. This time 8 weeks ago I never thought it would have been possible for me to do that many proper push ups! I am unashamedly chuffed with myself 🙂

I am looking forward to next year with regards to achieving a half marathon PB. I do believe that a sub-2 is within me and I just have to keep the faith and ignore that little voice in my head telling me to quit. My extra stretches and little yoga routine will, hopefully, make me a stronger runner.

I have lost 2 lbs and 1.5 inches from hips and waist throughout the duration of the challenge. The losses may be small but I am at a weight where I am happy and I’m hoping to be able to maintain this over the Festive period – this will be a challenge! I am also much more aware of the food that I eat and I am taking steps to improve the quality of the whole family’s diet; despite protestations from the girls sometimes!

Looking forward now, I aim to carry on pushing myself and trying out new things. Despite my doubts, I really enjoyed the yoga that I did as one of the ‘try something new’ challenges. I have now incorporated this into my daily routine alongside exercises specific to those suffering from hip bursitis. I believe that this will help me towards achieving a half marathon PB in 2013.

I also found the weekly challenges very motivating and so I have signed up to Tribesports, a site that has a huge amount of different sporting challenges and thousands of people all interested in challenging themselves and motivating you to push yourself further. I was also invited to join a Facebook group that has weekly challenges so that I continue to receive that impetus to keep on going. It gives me some accountability and means that it’s harder to avoid doing something when I’m not in the mood!

I will also be carrying on with the 100 Push Up challenge in order to keep pushing my limits, remind myself as to just how far I have come and that I can achieve more than I think possible when I ignore that nagging voice in my head.

Again, thanks Rebecca for this challenge and a huge well done to all the other participants who have also pushed themselves and achieved their goals.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Get Fit, Feel Epic: The Final Week!!

  1. plumpetals says:

    Great job with the challenge! Good luck finishing the 100 push up challenge and with reaching your half-marathon goal 🙂 Looking forward to continuing to read about your progress!

  2. S.N.S says:

    30 press-ups is an incredible achievement. Well done you! The Tribesports site seems like a great resource, I’m going to check it out later tonight.

    Good luck with your next goals and I can’t wait to read about your next half marathon recap when you smash the 2 hour goal!

Leave a Reply

