13 in 13: Looking to the Future

And so, here’s 2013 and, for me, it’s never been more pertinent to set goals in order to look to the future. Thinking about what I want to achieve this year has given me something to focus on and it has enabled me to keep battling on after the heartbreaking weekend that myself and my family had.

My brilliant dad passed away suddenly on Saturday, 29th December and has left a huge void in our lives. He’d suffered from Alzheimer’s for the last 3 years but losing him has come as such a massive shock. I don’t think anyone can ever be prepared for the finality of death but I was privileged to be his daughter and he’s left me with so many happy memories.

My Goals

1. Sub 2 hour half. I will get there. I need to work harder on my mental strength and silence that nagging voice in my head that tells me to quit.

2. Make something new for tea every Sunday. We’ve got into a bit of a rut with eating the same old things week after week. I need to start making more of an effort to broaden our palates (despite protestations by the girls!)

3. Spend more time in the Lakes. At least one day per month (preferably more!). The Lakes are on my doorstep; it’s a travesty that we don’t spend enough time enjoying it

4. Save more! Speaks for itself. We need to start putting aside more of our income

5. Recycle more! We need to get into the habit of doing this more often. Unfortunately, we don’t get any recycling collections and so we need to collect it and then take it to the recycling bin in town. Requires more effort but there’s no excuse not to do it!

6. Do a Yoga routine at least three times per week. I am notoriously inflexible and need to incorporate more stretching into my fitness regime in an attempt to make me a stronger (less injury prone!) runner.

7. A family walk at least once per week, hopefully tying in with goal number 3. It’s good to get out with the family and enjoy the fresh air.

8. Be more creative. Start drawing / scrap booking / photography I’ve never been the most creative person but doing something different is good for the soul.

9. Write a Blog post at least once per week. It’s good to be able to look back at my posts to see how far I’ve come with my running and where and how I could improve things.

10. Get out for a run with the girls at least once per month (subject to their interest of course!) Their enthusiasm is infectious and getting out with them reminds me of why I started running in the first place.

11. Do at least three challenges per month on Tribesports. It’s a brilliant site for motivation and challenges that you wouldn’t even think about doing normally!

12. Offer more encouragement to the other half with his efforts for a fitter 2013. This will benefit the whole family and make us all happier and healthier. He’s my rock and I don’t know how I’d get through these awful days without him

And the big goal….. Drum roll please…….

13. The Lakeland Trails Marathon in July. I have always sworn that I’d never do a full marathon but they say you always regret the things you don’t do more than the things that you actually do. The lovely Sarah has offered to pace me round as it’ll be a training run for the Lakeland 50 Ultra that she is doing later in the year.

We started the year off well by heading down to Keswick on New Year’s Day and having a stroll by Derwentwater. The weather was awful but it was good to get out.

Image

And so, there are my goals for all to see. I’m hoping that 2013 will be a good year for my family, friends  and for me in achieving my goals. I know my dad will be with me every step of the way.

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 13 in 13: Looking to the Future

  1. Happy Sprout says:

    Sorry to hear of your loss. Beautiful post and words. I hope you achieve your goals and all your wishes come true, Amy.

  2. So sorry to hear about your dad 😦 Im glad you are joining in the challenge, i hope it can help you stay happy during a difficult time x

  3. plumpetals says:

    Good luck working towards your goals!! Looking forward to reading about your prep for that July marathon 🙂

  4. I’m so sorry that 2012 was seen out with your dad passing. Big hugs. I hope that you enjoy every moment spent working towards your goals, taking the memory of him with you each step. ^_^

  5. S.N.S says:

    So very, very sorry to hear about your poor Dad. For so long we see our parents as indestructible, that it comes as a shock when they become older and more vulnerable. I hope that you’re getting lots of support and love from your little girls at this difficult time. xx

  6. Andrew Lang says:

    Kathleen, my condolences at the loss of your Dad, but wow what a moving eulogy what more could a Dad want? If he’s looking down then he’s smiling ☺. Lost my Dad 20 years ago this year and all I can say is the pain lessens but you never forget.
    Love your resolutions, they’re all positive and practical, can I steal them? I’m doing Yoga a couple of days a week already and it helps with the running. Love the Sunday Lunch idea, will be stealing that one especially since we got a cookbook at Christmas. I might have a go at some of the Tribesport challenges, and will be running the Lakeland Trails Marathon. Good luck and I hope 2013 is a great year for you, maybe see you at the Trail Races.

  7. love your goal number 13 of doing marathon! good luck with your goals for the year, wish you all the best

  8. Adrian says:

    Hi Kath, sorry to hear about your dad. Glad you are enjoying the Tribesports Challenges and would love to set up a partnership with your blog to get more involved together if you could drop me an email 🙂 adrian@tribesports dot com

Leave a Reply

