Spring is in the Air……

This morning really was one of those welcoming days that begins to hint that Spring really is just around the corner. It was positively glorious and it cannot fail to motivate you into getting out and making the most of it; just in case it is fleeting.

The school run was lovely and made a very nice change from the usual wind and rain that accompanies us on our little walk. The girls were in a good mood too and it all made for a very pleasant walk to school.

Once I arrived back at home, I quickly changed into my running clothes and headed out the door. I’d planned on doing an 8 miler and I couldn’t have picked a more perfect day. The route was hilly and included the infamous ‘Hill of Doom’ but the scenery helped to distract me from the pain in my legs and the banging in my chest as I ascended several evil hills. There were even some little lambs playing out in the sun, skipping and racing as this mad running lady passed them by.

Today's route

Today’s route

Elevation. The hills felt a lot bigger than they look on here!!

Elevation. The hills felt a lot bigger than they look on here!!

It was one of those days were you never want the run to end. Where you could just lose yourself for hours and enjoy the peace and serenity of the open countryside. However, the other half wouldn’t have been too chuffed if I’d disappeared indefinitely and so the run had to end. I felt good and strong towards the finish and I’m just enjoying my running so much just now. My better half’s renewed motivation towards a healthier lifestyle has reinvigorated me. His enthusiasm is infectious.

Today's Pace. Nice and steady

Today’s Pace. Nice and steady

In the afternoon, I took my youngest to the park. On the way, we passed the pull ups bars that are situated by the River Eden. I couldn’t resist having a little try on them and amazed myself by managing two, yes two, pull ups. I know, it doesn’t sound impressive (and really, it isn’t!) but last year I only managed one! A small improvement but an improvement all the same!

Bars of Pain

Bars of Pain

Then I took Thea to the proper park – she wasn’t impressed by the bars!

This is more like it!

This is more like it!

Looking back at this week’s training, I feel like it’s gone well. I’m beginning to feel the benefits of adding additional core and leg work. Here’s a quick run down of last week.

Monday    50 various crunches, 44 various squats (as part of the We Love A Challenge group’s February challenge), 10 Burpees with push ups and star jumps, 10 push ups to unstable plank, 50 mountain climbers, 2 minute plank, 30 sec each side plank and 1 minute wall squat.

Tuesday     30 minute hill interval session on the treadmill – 4.18km                       50 various crunches, 48 various squats (as part of the We Love A Challenge group’s February challenge), 10 Burpees with push ups and star jumps, 10 push ups to unstable plank, 2 minute plank, 30 sec each side plank and 1 minute wall squat.

Wednesday  52 various squats and 10 Burpees with push ups and star jumps

Thursday    Run with the Tri club. Felt good although it was tough. 6.5 miles in          56:45.                                                                                                                                                                           56 various squats.

Friday        50 various crunches, 60 various squats, 100 low squats with lateral leg raises,         10 Burpees with push ups and star jumps and 10 push ups to unstable plank

Saturday    Parkrun day!! Felt tough but managed a PB! Only by 5 seconds but a PB is a PB! Delighted with the time although I’d love sub-26 minutes now. So close!  5K in 26:02 64 squats and 50 various crunches

Sunday      68 various squats, 15 Burpees with push ups and star jumps, 15 jump squats, 15 push ups, 1 min plank (Tribesports’ 15,15,15 challenge), 1 round Tabata (Side jumps, dumbbell rows, heel flicks and dumbbell twists)

It’s been a good week and I’m feeling very optimistic as to how my training is going and I’m hoping to have a happier and healthier 2013!

IMG_4085

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring is in the Air……

  1. plumpetals says:

    Looks like you’ve had an amazing workout week! Glad you enjoyed your run – nothing like being outdoors in perfect weather and fresh air! 🙂

Leave a Reply

