Short and Sweet

Following last Sunday’s long, long run, Monday was spent doing a lot of walking and stretching. I find moving lots helps with recovery despite the temptation to put my feet up and watch TV, eating us out of house and home.

After a long day at work on Tuesday, it felt good to get out for a steady 5k. It really is a good way of cleansing the soul and forgetting the day’s stresses. Aside from a few very minor niggles, I felt good and ended up going a bit quicker than the slow recovery run that I had planned. It was rather cold, though, so I had to move faster to warm up!

On Thursday, I had my first child-free day for a long, long time. In fact, I can’t remember the last time I had a whole day just to myself. To do what I please. Of course the first thing I did, after dropping the youngest off at play group, was get out for a run. The weather was perfect, if a little cold. I felt relaxed and strong throughout the run; even managing to power up some of the hills! All the squats I’ve been doing must be working!

Waterside Loop

Waterside Loop

Waterside Elevation

Waterside Elevation

Waterside Pace

Waterside Pace

I was pleased with my steady pacing and had no niggles whatsoever. I must be getting fitter to recover from an 18 miler so quickly! Progress at last!

On Saturday, I dropped the girls off with their Grandma and Auntie Karen and headed through to Chance’s Park to tackle the parkrun. I had planned on doing the Lorton 10k but, owing to the immense amount of snow that fell in some parts of Cumbria on Friday, it was cancelled.

I hadn’t done the parkrun for a few weeks and so it was a good opportunity to gauge my progress, if any! It was bitterly cold when I arrived and some snow was laying on the course. It was a much reduced turnout than usual with only 64 brave and hardy fools souls turning up. Despite the bitter cold and the icy wind that cut right through you, the marshals were, as ever, hugely encouraging and smiley.

The first lap passed quite quickly but, on the second lap, the wind really seemed to grow in strength. Turning a corner, it was almost as if I’d slammed into a brick wall! Luckily, the wind was behind us as we ascended the gradual incline that is deceptively tough. I didn’t feel like I was going particularly fast and, due to the harsh headwind, I didn’t think a PB would be on the cards.

Parkrun courtesy of S.Thomson http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottthomson/

Parkrun courtesy of S.Thomson http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottthomson/

Still, I kept plugging away. Towards the end of the 3rd and final lap, I felt I had enough in the tank to start my sprint finish a bit earlier than usual. Also, I was still feeling cold and needed to get moving in order to finish quicker and thaw myself out with a hot chocolate in the Manor Cafe.

Brrrrr, cold parkrun (courtesy of S.Thomson http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottthomson/)

Brrrrr, cold parkrun (courtesy of S.Thomson http://www.flickr.com/photos/scottthomson/)

After crossing the line, I was astounded at the time showing on my watch! I’d smashed my previous best by 25 seconds, finishing with a time of 25:37!! I was absolutely over the moon, especially when I was told I was 3rd lady that day. I know the turnout was smaller this time but I’m still really chuffed with it šŸ™‚

Parkrun

Parkrun

Parkrun PB! Delighted :-)

Parkrun PB! Delighted šŸ™‚

I felt like I’d earned the hot chocolate and it did help defrost me. I also felt like I’d earned the extra piece of cake that I treated myself to as well.

It felt very strange not doing a long run this weekend. However, I know my body will thank me for it and, hopefully, I’ll be in as good a shape as possible for when the long runs start building up again in preparation for my own marathon. July will come round all too quickly and I need to be prepared šŸ™‚

snow

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

