Marathon Recovery Week: Taking It Easy

It’s 8 days post marathon and I’ve been surprised at how quickly my legs have recovered. I also still have my running mojo intact – I was a bit worried that the marathon may prove such an ordeal that I’d never lace up my trainers again!

I took a half day off work on Tuesday, two days after the marathon, and used the opportunity to test out how my legs were on a short plod round the block. Despite the heat, I felt good but I was mindful to keep the pace slow. This wasn’t difficult as the heat was really stifling.

Again, on Thursday, another half day off work (half days are definitely the way forward!) meant that I could squeeze in another little run around the block. The pace was a bit quicker but, again, the heat was rather unbearable!

recovery run 2On the weekend, the weather remained glorious and, because I wasn’t running a marathon, I was able to enjoy it at a much more relaxed pace. Long runs have dominated my Sunday mornings for the last few months and so it was nice to be able to spend a perfect weekend with my girls. On Saturday, we headed to Castlerigg Stone Circle on the outskirts of Keswick, followed by a picnic on the shores of Derwentwater.

Castlerigg Stone Circle

Castlerigg Stone Circle

 

Enjoying finding out more about the stone circle

Enjoying finding out more about the stone circle

Derwentwater

Derwentwater

 

Picnic Time

Picnic Time

IMG_5224IMG_5229On Sunday, we set off early to Sale Fell; Thea was keen to climb her first ‘mountain’ and Sale Fell is an ideal place to start. Parking on the roadside, all three girls were keen to get going and their spirits were high. I love their enthusiasm! The sun was shining and it was such a beautiful morning to be out enjoying the stunning natural scenery that is only a 20 minute drive away.

The route climbed steadily upwards and we took our time getting to the top. The girls keen to drink in the panoramic views that surrounded them.

The climb up Sale Fell

The climb up Sale Fell

The climb up Sale Fell

The climb up Sale Fell

The climb up Sale Fell

The climb up Sale Fell

We Made It! Thea bags her first Wainwright!

We Made It! Thea bags her first Wainwright!

Time for a rest

Time for a rest

Enjoying the views

Enjoying the views

The Descent

The Descent

Views of Bassenthwaite Lake

Views of Bassenthwaite Lake

The girls really enjoyed their fell walk and, at the age of 3, Thea has bagged her first Wainwright. Only another 213 to go!

Today, I managed to get out for my longest run since the marathon. Again, the temperature was way too hot for me  and I struggled throughout because of this. On the positive side, my legs felt fine and I did get a new personal record on one of the Strava segments on the run!

steepstriderpr

Strava Segment: A great motivational tool

Strava Segment: A great motivational tool

recovery run 3So, all in all, it’s been a brilliant week. Although the heat makes for uncomfortable running, a bit of sun now and again is good for the soul. British Summers don’t tend to last for too long and so we do need to appreciate it when we have it.

IMG_5227

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

