Walking, Running and Getting Obsessive About ‘Bagging Wainwright’s’!

Cumbria continues to bask in the sun meaning this week’s attempts at running have left me in a horrible melty,sweaty mess. I did two short runs. The first, with Erin accompanying me on the bike, was just over 2 miles. It did include one attempt at a hill sprint and so I didn’t feel too bad at wimping out of a longer run. I even managed a new best time on a Strava segment on said hill sprint.

Strava Segment Leader Board!

Strava Segment Leader Board!

On Friday, I managed a slightly longer run. I left it until later in the evening. To be honest, I really didn’t want to get out. It was hot, I knew it would be uncomfortable and, after a long day at work, I was ready to put my feet up. However, I knew I would feel rubbish if I didn’t make the effort and so I dragged myself out for a hellishly hot 5k.

hot 5kOn Sunday, I met up with Ali in Caldbeck just after 8am. It was already warm. Ali chose this route because she thought the trees would offer us some cover from the sun. However, it turned out that only 10% of the route was in the shade! Nevertheless, it was a lovely run along the river from Caldbeck to Sebergham. The route was a mixture of stony paths, woodland tracks and field. There were some good hills involved too. I’m sure I requested a pancake flat route in order to exert as least effort as possible.

caldbeckwoodrouteWe covered 10k in 1 hour 7 minutes. A gentle plod in the unrelenting heat and evil, torturous climbs (I am sometimes prone to exaggeration. Not today!…..)

Following our run, I headed into the Lakes with the family. Thea was keen to climb another mountain and bag another Wainwright. The whole family is enjoying getting out and finally making the most of this beautiful corner of England in which we are so lucky to live. My cousin, Ali, my brother and my neighbours have totted up an amazing amount of Wainwright’s between them. Their enthusiasm about these climbs has finally filtered into me and, although late to the party, I’m keen, as a family, to head into the fells much more frequently.

Sunday saw Ling Fell on the agenda. Another one of the smaller Wainwright’s for Thea to tick off her list. The walk up sweeps the side of Ling Fell meaning the ascent is gradual and perfect for little legs. The breeze grew slightly as we neared the top and it was a welcoming feeling, a break from the stifling heat.

One last little climb and Thea bags her second Wainwright

One last little climb and Thea bags her second Wainwright

Made It!!

Made It!!

Looking down on to Sale Fell, last week's walk

Looking down on to Sale Fell, last week’s walk

Future fellrunners

Future fellrunners

The girls made short work of the descent and were still full of energy once we got back to the car!

Today saw Thea bag her third Wainwright. Another warm walk  was the order of the day and the climb of Binsey Fell. This fell is set apart, alone and as Wainwright described it ‘Like a dunce in a classroom’. It reveals its beauty at the top, however, with glorious views. Truly stunning. Setting off from Binsey Lodge, the ascent is quite steep but Thea still managed it easily. It was just more of an upward slog than the meandering path round Ling Fell.

Placing a stone

Placing a stone

Third Wainwright: Done!

Third Wainwright: Done!

I love that the girls enjoy getting out into the fells; tackling the climbs with enthusiasm knowing that at the top awaits a picnic, and the food tastes so much better after you’ve slogged up the side of a ‘mountain’. It’s brilliant that we can enjoy these things together, as a family, and share in our achievements. I hope their enthusiasm for the fells, and being active, remains with them and they continue to enjoy the beautiful countryside that surrounds them.

IMG_5429

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

