Track Trauma and Heading to the Hills

Tuesday evening saw me actually dragging myself to only my third track session of the year. Shocking! After a warm up, which included 4 laps of the track and some drills, we began the main session. The aim was to complete 12x300m with a slow 100m recovery. The session would end once the faster runners had completed 12 reps.

Due to the lack of track sessions and, thus, lack of speed work that I have done this year, running at speed came as a bit of a shock! Still, I managed to complete 10 reps that were all at a similar pace so I was happy with that. For the next two days I hobbled around as my muscles protested at the work they’d undergone.

20130902-142748.jpg

The first few laps: pretty even..

On Thursday, I did wonder whether to attend the evening club run as I was still a bit sore from Tuesday’s session. However, I decided to brave it, telling myself I could always stop if I felt uncomfortable… I just prayed it wouldn’t be hills! I was in luck; the run was to be an off-roader following the River Eden up towards Grinsdale. Despite being overcast, it was warm when we set off. My legs protested at first but I soon settled into the run. An out and back route, the aim was to run out for 30 mins and then make it back under the hour: a negative split.
It was good to get out and I really enjoyed the run. The last couple of miles were tough but I was determined to make it back in under the hour.
I dug in and was delighted to find that I’d managed the negative split!

20130902-143514.jpg
On Sunday, I headed for the hills with Ali. Ali had plotted a route that would enable me to bag two more Wainwright’s: Bowscale Fell and Bannerdale Crags.
It was a miserable day with the wind increasing in intensity as we neared the tops. It was difficult heading up to Bowscale Tarn as my legs were heavy and the wind was relentless. We stopped at the tarn to take pics and a breather before heading up the steep climb towards the summit.

20130902-144035.jpg

The (rather steep!) climb up from the tarn

20130902-144105.jpg

Looking back down to Bowscale Tarn and the walkers snaking their way up

The wind increased in intensity and it was tough going up to the top. However, we kept plodding away and finally reached the cairn marking the top of Bowscale Fell.

20130902-144300.jpg

Rather windy at the top of Bowscale Fell!

In the distance we could see the stones marking our next target: Bannerdale Crags. My legs seemed to have loosened up some and the climb up to our next peak was much better going. I had to keep my eyes forward as we ran along the path which was close to the edge and had a rather steep drop down into the valley below. Suicidal sheep pranced along the edge as we passed them by. The view from the top was breathtaking. Despite some low cloud, we still had vast panoramic views.

20130902-144651.jpg

Bannerdale Crags

We then headed back down the path which led us off the summit and then down towards Mungrisedale. The going was slow as the path was rugged with some large holes obscured by grass; perfect for twisting ankles. Once the path became more runnable, our pace quickened and we were able to enjoy the descent, trusting in the grip of my reliable footwear.
We then had about a mile of road to run on before we reached the car. My Salomon Speedcross’ do not like this terrain and so it was a long mile!
Eventually, we reached the car. Away from the hill tops, the wind had eased and we’d got rather hot on our brief stint on the road.

20130902-145502.jpg

Rather big hill!!

Although this was a tough run, I love heading on to the fells, leaving the hustle and bustle of the crowds behind and enjoying the beautiful countryside that surrounds us.

20130902-145607.jpg

View from the summit of Bannerdale Crags

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Track Trauma and Heading to the Hills

  1. TartanJogger says:

    Wow, your pictures are stunning, it looks beautiful! Well done on your track sessions.

  2. kathsb says:

    Thanks 🙂 I’m lucky to live so close to these beautiful places. The views from the top make the arduous climb so worth it xxx

Leave a Reply

