Hello, Motivation

With the other half away, it’s been a case of fitting in runs around the girls. The Great North Run is 5 days away and I don’t feel as prepared as I would like for this event. My last long run was on the 18th August and, although my running has been consistent, the longest run since then has been 7 miles. I just hope I’ve done enough to make it round!

On a positive front, I have rediscovered my motivation for cross training. Last week, my work’s fitness challenge kicked off and this really has helped kick start my healthy eating and my enthusiasm for other exercise. I’ve dusted off my Jillian Michaels‘ collection and been searching You Tube for various Yoga workouts (Thumbs up for Tara Stiles!).

I also stepped on the scales for the first time in months and that’s been a wake up call! Although my marathon was completed in July, my eating has carried on as if I’m still training for one. No surprise then that the pounds have crept on. I have started using MyFitnessPal once again (I’m Kathsb on there, if you wish to follow and keep me on the right track :-)) and hope that this will help me to focus on what I’m eating and assist me with making the right choices.

Last Thursday, I got out for a steady run around the Waterside Loop. Averaging 9’12 min/mile, I felt good and tried to put my foot down on the hills. The last mile was the quickest and this always makes me happy!

On Saturday, I hit the treadmill (AKA Dreadmill) for the first time in a while. I did a hill interval program from iFit. This very nearly killed me and I was a dripping sweaty mess when I staggered off 30 minutes later.

On Sunday, I headed back into the Lakes with mum and the girls for a visit to the Bowder Stone. It was a beautiful morning and the girls loved climbing up on to this precariously balanced rock.

The Girls Bravely Ascending the Perilous Stone...

The Girls Bravely Ascending the Perilous Stone…

Bowder Stone

Bowder Stone

IMG_6090

Afterwards, on Erin’s request, we headed to the Castlerigg Stone Circle. She is fascinated with local history!

Castlerigg Stone Circle

Castlerigg Stone Circle

I rounded off the week by incorporating hill sprints into my morning run. Does it ever get easier?! As I ‘sprint’ up, my legs are screaming, my lungs are burning and all I want to do is stop (and cry). However, when I make it to the top, I feel amazing and, as I slowly jog back to the bottom, my breath recovering, I’m ready to hit that hill again. Commonsense prevailed and I kept the session short, mindful that it is only 5 days until my next half marathon.

The plan for the rest of the week is to take it steady. During cross training, I will concentrate on my upper body and core, resting my legs. A short run on Thursday will be taken very slowly and that will be it until Sunday. My second Great North Run!

IMG_6103

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello, Motivation

  1. TartanJogger says:

    Your pics of the Bowder Stone are great! I’m sure you’ll do grand in the GNR: it’ll just be usual last-minute negative thoughts you’ll need to chase away!

Leave a Reply

